Public Works News

AORS Announces New President and Executive

At its Annual General Meeting on February 24, AORS introduced its new President for 2020, Bill Wilson. Bill is Operations Coordinator for the Township of Perth East, and holds the CRS designation.  Joining Bill as Corporate Directors are Glenn Harding, CRS, 2nd Vice-President (Road Supervisor, Chatham-Kent), Mike Alcock, 1st Vice-President (Director of Public Works, Municipality of Morris-Turnberry), and Phil Wilson, CRS-S, Immediate Past President (Public Works Foreman / Fleet Manager for the Township of Southgate).

Pictured (l to r):  Phil Wilson, Past President; Mike Alcock, 1st Vice-President; Bill Wilson, President; Glenn Harding, 2nd Vice-President.

Announcing the Recipient of the 2019 Marvin D. Halladay Memorial Education Award

At its 2020 AGM, the Association of Ontario Road Supervisors honoured the winner of the 2019 Marvin D. Halladay Memorial Education Award:  Atrayu Benish, Township of West Lincoln (Niagara Road Supervisors Association).  Each year, the Halladay award is presented to the individual who, among all those who completed the Public Works Leadership Development Program the previous year, achieved the highest overall average over all eight modules.  Congratulations Tray!

Tray Benish (l) receives the Marvin D. Halladay Award from AORS President Phil Wilson.

AORS Response to COVID-19 Pandemic

As the world grapples with the quickly evolving COVID-19 outbreak, AORS is making adjustments to ensure the health and safety of our members, clients, staff, contractors and other stakeholders, their families, and the many communities they all serve so selflessly.  This remains our top priority.

AORS 2020 Municipal Public Works Trade Show

AORS and the Simcoe County Road Supervisor Association, the hosts of the 2020 Trade Show, have made the difficult decision to cancel the trade show this year.  After consulting with the hosts of the 2021 and 2022 shows, and with the approval of the Board of Directors, we have decided to postpone each of those events by one year.  Hence, the 2021 trade show will be held in Barrie, hosted by the Simcoe County Road Supervisors Association; the 2022 trade show will be held in Strathroy, hosted by the Middlesex County Public Works Association; and the 2023 trade show will be held in Cornwall, hosted by the Eastern Ontario Road Supervisors Association.  We want to thank the many suppliers who had committed to exhibit at the 2020 show for their loyalty and support, and look forward to seeing them in 2021 instead.  We will be in communication with them directly regarding next steps.  We also want to thank the many volunteer members of the Simcoe County Road Supervisors Association who worked diligently to plan the event.  Their hard work will not go to waste as they look forward to hosting the trade show in Barrie next year.  

AORS Training Events

AORS and our training partners are committed to delivering the quality training that our members and their staff need to provide the essential services their municipalities expect, safely and efficiently.  We will do so in full compliance with public health guidelines or government directives on group gatherings, also taking into consideration the availability of instructors and training venues, travel restrictions, and sufficient demand for individual training events to make them viable.  As these are changing daily, we will make adjustments as needed.  

When we do proceed with in-person training, we will implement protocols around distancing and disinfecting. 

At this time, all in-person training in March and April is cancelled and will be rescheduled to a later date where practicable.  Future training events will be reviewed on an ongoing basis. 

Online delivery options are under development for the following courses:  CVOR for Supervisors, Supervisor Due Diligence, Gravel Road School, and Rural Road Maintenance. 

As mentioned, the situation will be monitored closely, and adjustments made as necessary.  All impacted students will be contacted directly.

AORS Staff, Contractors and Volunteers

Those of you familiar with AORS know that we operate with a skeleton staff, and depend on a network of contractors and dedicated volunteers to deliver quality programs.  Their health and safety are paramount, and we are implementing measures to protect these.  In compliance with the Ontario government directive that all non-essential businesses be closed, the AORS office will be closed until further notice.  Staff will work from home, but we will not be operating at full capacity nor have access to all the files and systems we normally use.  We may not be able to tend to all matters as quickly as we’d like, and we appreciate your patience and understanding while we work through these challenging times.   Please send any requests for information to, and we will respond as soon as possible.  

AORS Announces 2019 Driver of the Year

Winners of the 2019 AORS Provincial Safety Truck Roadeo

AORS is pleased to announce the winner of the 2019 Provincial Safety Truck Roadeo – Jeff Nielsen, from the Municipality of Trent Hills, representing the Northumberland County Road Builders Association.  Jeff beat out 33 other competitors from across the province, each of whom was a top driver from their Local Association.

2019 Driver of the Year, Jeff Nielsen (r), with 2019 AORS President Phil Wilson

This was the 26th annual AORS Provincial Safety Truck Roadeo.  It was held in Laurentian Valley on September 11, hosted by the Renfrew County Road Supervisors Association.

First runner up was Joe Ennis from the Township of Tay Valley, representing the Lanark County Road Supervisors Association.  Two drivers tied for second runner up: Erik Ramaker, from the Municipality of South Huron, representing the Huron County Road Supervisors Association; and John Gleeson, from the Township of Mississippi Mills, also representing Lanark County. John was the champion in both 2018 and 2011. 

Congratulations to all the competitors.

AORS Announces New President and Executive

At its Annual General Meeting on February 25, AORS introduced its new President for 2019, Phil Wilson. Phil is Public Works Foreman / Fleet Manager for the Township of Southgate, and holds a CRS-S designation. Joining Phil as Corporate Directors are Mike Alcock, 2nd Vice-President (Director of Public Works, Municipality of Morris-Turnberry), Bill Wilson, CRS, 1st Vice-President (Operations Coordinator, Township of Perth East), and Rod Cameron, CRS-S, Immediate Past President (Operations Manager, Town of Mississippi Mills).

Pictured (l to r):    Mike Alcock, 2nd Vice-President; Bill Wilson, 1st Vice President; Phil Wilson, President; Rod Cameron, Immediate Past President