AORS Truck Roadeo

Roadeo LogoRoadeo History and Purpose

The purpose of the AORS Provincial Safety Truck Roadeo is to showcase the expertise of the best municipal equipment operators in Ontario.  The competitors are the winners of Roadeos in their Local Associations.  They have already been successful in elimination rounds, and are among the best equipment operators across the province.  The Roadeo promotes safety, courtesy and professional public works driving skills in a challenging competition.  The organization of the Roadeo is the responsibility of the AORS Education Committee, in cooperation with a hosting Local Association.

The AORS Provincial Safety Truck Roadeo started in 1994.  Each year the top three drivers are awarded trophies, plaques and cash prizes at an awards ceremony, and the winner is presented the Roadeo trophy by the Provincial Minister of Transportation (or designate) at the OGRA Awards Luncheon the following February.


Each year one of the AORS Local Associations hosts the Roadeo.  Their responsibility is to set up a committee of municipal and private sector volunteers to ensure the success of the event.  This usually means that representatives from counties, townships, towns, villages and the private sector will be asked to support the event and assist with many related duties.  Without fail, this important event in the AORS calendar goes off without a hitch.  One of the side benefits to the organizing committee is the opportunity to work as a team and to get to know your peers within your own local association, and showcase a local community.

The 2019 AORS Provincial Safety Truck Roadeo

The 26th annual AORS Provincial Safety Truck Roadeo was held on Wednesday, September 11, 2019, hosted by the Renfrew County Road Supervisors Association, at the Laurentian Valley Municipal Centre / Public Works yard.  The Renfrew County Road Supervisors Association held its local Roadeo at the same location on Tuesday, September 10, 2019.  Thank you to the Suppliers who participated as sponsors and exhibitors in the 2-day trade show.

The 2019 winners were:

“Driver of the Year” – Jeff Nielsen, Municipality of Trent Hills, Northumberland County Road Builders Association
1st Runner-up – Joe Ennis, Township of Tay Valley, Lanark County Road Supervisors Association
2nd Runner-up – TIED:  Erik Ramaker, Municipality of South Huron, Huron County Road Supervisors Association; and John Gleeson, Township of Mississippi Mills, Lanark County Road Supervisors Association.

Congratulations to all Participants, Judges, Volunteers & Organizers for a job well done. A good day was had by all.

Provincial Truck Roadeo Score Sheet 2019

Roadeo Pics

Roadeo Past Winners

The 2020 AORS Provincial Safety Truck Roadeo – Postponed to 2021

The 2020 AORS Provincial Safety Truck Roadeo which was scheduled for Wednesday, September 16, 2020, has been cancelled.  This is because of group gathering restrictions still in effect, and the fact that none of the Local Associations held their regional roadeos, hence no competitors for the provincial championship. The District 8 Road Supervisors Association  will now host the 2021 Provincial Roadeo, tentatively scheduled for Wednesday September 15, 2021, to be held in Napanee.  District 8 will hold their local Roadeo on Tuesday, September 14, 2021 at the same location.  Suppliers are invited to participate as sponsors and exhibitors in a 2-day trade show.  Contact John Maheu at (905) 220-1146.  More information will be posted as it becomes available. 

The AORS Provincial Safety Truck Roadeo Rules

In 2011, the rules, circuit and scoring were modified to include the use of both wing and plow on vehicles to better simulate the actual environment in which this type of equipment is operated.

In 2014, the rules for the Provincial Safety Truck Roadeo were changed to allow two entrants from each Local Association that participated in a local Roadeo.  In addition, the winner of previous year’s Provincial Roadeo will be invited back to defend their title.

Annual Safety Truck Roadeo Instructions